Bears, Cards face longer football trips after UIL Realignment

Published 10:52 am Monday, February 1, 2016

BEAUMONT —There were a few major shakeups Monday morning as the University Interscholastic League held its Realignment across the state.

Plenty of teams will be competing in their same district while others will see quite a change.

Perhaps the biggest news to hit the Orange County area is the revamped District 10-4A Division I Football District.

The new district will have Little Cypress-Mauriceville, Bridge City, Cleveland, Huffman, Silsbee and two new additions — powerhouse Navasota and Livingston. Splendora leaves the district by moving up to Class 5A while Jasper dropped down to 4A Division II.

That means a lot of long trips for LC-M and Bridge City the next couple seasons, including at the junior high and subvarsity levels.

Many felt that Jasper would moved into a more local district but the Bulldogs have moved north. The Bulldogs even moved out of Region III and into Region II where they will play the likes of Diboll, Huntington, Rusk and Tatum.

So, state champion West Orange-Stark, Orangefield, Hamshire-Fannett, Hardin-Jefferson and Liberty will still remain in the same district. Instead of District 9-4A Division II, they all will be in District 12-4A Division II.

There will also be a few changes for Orange County schools in their district for other sports.

Bridge City, LC-M, WO-S , Orangefield, Silsbee and Hamshire-Fannett along with newcomer Beaumont Harmony Science Academy will compete in District 22-4A. Hardin-Jefferson will move on in other sports to 23-3A where the Hawks will compete against Cleveland, Tarkington, Huffman, Liberty, and Shepherd.

In District 22-5A Vidor, Port Neches-Groves, Nederland, Lumberton, Beaumont Central, Beaumont Ozen and Baytown Lee will remain. However, Port Arthur Memorial will join the fray by dropping down a classification, replacing Goose Creek Memorial, which moved up to the 6A ranks.

In Class 6A, Beaumont West Brook got pushed into Region III and will participate in District 12-6A against the likes of Conroe, Conroe Oak Ridge, The Woodlands, Woodlands College Park, Lufkin and Montgomery.

The Class 3A Division I 12-3A football district will consist of Anahuac, Hardin, Hempstead, Hitchcock, La Marque and East Chambers. The 3A Division I District 11-3A will consist of Buna, Coldspring, Kirbyville, Kountze, Trinity, Warren and Woodville. Newton will be in 3A Division II District 10-3A with Corrigan-Camden, Crockett, Frankston, Garrison and Hemphill.

The district for the other sports in Class 3A will include a District 23-3A that consists of Anahuac, Buna, Hardin, Kirbyville, Kountze, Port Arthur Hope, Warren and East Chambers while District 22-3A will have Newton, Pollok Central, Woodville, Nacogdoches Central Heights, Hemphill, Garrison and Corrigan-Camden.

Perhaps the school that received the best news Monday comes from Newton County and Deweyville, where the Pirates have finally dropped down to Class 2A after being so close for so many years.

In football, the Pirates will play in 2A Division I District 12-2A against Centerville, Groveton, Lovelady, West Sabine and West Hardin.

In all of the other sports, the Pirates will take on Evadale, Hull-Daisetta, Sabine Pass and West Hardin.

Of course, the Realignment meeting always gives area football coaches a big chance to complete their non-district football schedules.

Little Cypress-Mauriceville will take on WO-S, Jasper, Hardin-Jefferson and Lumberton.

Bridge City will play against Hamshire-Fannett, Houston North Forest, WO-S and Newton.

Orangefield will face Buna, Kirbyville, Woodville, Livingston, Beaumont Kelly and Diboll and WO-S will take on Nederland,LC-M, Bridge City, and Silsbee