WO-S’ Tims, Dallas up for Smith Awards

Published 9:20 am Thursday, January 21, 2016

BEAUMONT — A pair of West Orange-Stark Mustangs are Willie Ray Smith Awards Finalist after they were announced on Wednesday night.

Mustang junior quarterback Jack Dallas is up for the Offensive Award and senior Mustang linebacker Steven Tims is up for the Defensive Award.

The awards will be handed out Feb. 17 at 6:30 p.m. at the Elegante in Beaumont.

Both played huge roles in leading the Mustangs (15-1) to the Class 4A Division II State Championship. Both were named Players of the Game in WO-S’ 22-3 State Championship victory over Celina.

Dallas completed 199-of-305 passes for 3,113 yards and tossed 38 touchdowns with just seven interceptions. He also rushed for 207 yards and six TDs.

Meanwhile, Tims terrorized opposing offenses. Tims put together 215 tackles, six for losses and knocked down eight passes.

Other Offensive Finlaist were quarterbacks as well in Silsbee’s Dontre Thomas, Port Neches-Groves’ Adam Morse, and Hamshire-Fannett’s Kendrick King.

Other Defensive Finalists includes Silsbee linebacker Michael McCain, Beaumont West Brook safety Innis Gaines and Nederland safety Tavian Mayfield.

Silsbee’s Thomas completed 174-of-300 passes for 3,043 yards and 38 TDs. He also rushed for 1,883 yards and 30 TDs. PN-G’s Morse completed 203-of-313 passes for 36 TDs and rushed for 350 yafrds and nine TDs. H-F’s King ran for 1,849 yards and 34 TDs and passed for 725 yards and two TDs.

Silsbee’s McCain made 107 tackles and had three interceptions. West Brook’s Gaines was in on 124 tackles, knocked down 11 passes and had five interceptions. Nederland’s Mayfield was in on 116 stops, knocked down six passes and had three interceptions.

The Smith Awards is considered Southeast Texas’ Heisman Trophy. It was created in 1992 and first given out in 1993.

Smith won 235 games and two state championships in 33 seasons as coach at Beaumont Charlton-Pollard, Orange Wallace and Lufkin Dunbar.

Players are first nominated by their coaches and then members of the media vote for their top four players in each category. Media winners then vote for one winner on each side of the ball.


Here are the past Willie Ray Smith Award winners:

1993: Dexter Hebert, Kelly

1994: Jay McGuire, Silsbee

1995: Jeffery Spikes, Burkeville

1996: Elijah Burkins, Thomas Jefferson

1997: Bryan Bock, Bridge City

1998: Offense: Chip Ambres, West Brook; Defense: Charles Sias, WO-S

1999: Offense: Beaux Daville, Orangefield; Defense: Rod Gulley, Newton

2000: Offense: Dustin Long, PN-G; Defense: Gayron Allen, WO-S

2001: Offense: Sean Yoder, Nederland; Defense: Jermaine Hope, WO-S

2002: Offense: Tony Eckert, Lumberton; Defense: Ricky Wilson, Lincoln

2003: Offense: Matt Peebles, Bridge City; Defense: William Bryant, Jasper

2004: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: William Morrissey, Silsbee

2005: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Brian West, Ozen

2006: Offense: Kenneth Beasley, WO-S; Defense: Sean Weatherspoon, Jasper

2007: Offense: Micah Mosley, Nederland; Defense: Earl Thomas, WO-S

2008: Offense: Cody Hussey, Lumberton; Defense: Tramain Thomas, East Chambers

2009: Offense: Christian Micheal, West Brook Defense: Kevin Robinson, WO-S

2010: Offense: Jeremy Johnson, Silsbee; Defense: Jacoby Hale, Central

2011: Offense: Fred Ford, Kirbyville; Defense: Colin Garrett, West Brook

2012: Offense: Terrence Singleton, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Corbin Carr, Nederland

2013: Offense: Montana Quirante, Vidor; Defense: Montana Quirante, Vidor

2014: Offense: Patrick Reed, Silsbee; DeShawn Washington, Nederland

2015: Offense: Michael Jacquet, Central; Defense: Deionte Thompson, WO-S