Election races begin

Published 8:01 am Wednesday, December 16, 2015

By Bobby Tingle


Orange county voters will soon be faced with election decisions for several local races. Early voting begins February 16 and will run through February 26. Qualified residents who have not registered may do so as late as February 1. Election day is March 1 and this will be the Primary Election when each party will choose canidates for the general election November 8. Voters may also apply to cast their ballot by mail. The deadline to apply is February 19 and the ballot must be received by February 26.

Several races in the Republican Primary will be contested with one destined for a runoff May 24.

According to Democrat Party Chair, Debra Mitchell, no one filed to be on the ballot for that party’s Primary.

“For some reason they feel the pressure of the majority party”, said Mitchell.

Plans are in place to meet and develop a strategic plan to overcome the lack of participation.   Mitchell feels that variety and choice are best for all of us and will work to ensure challengers file for future elections.

The most sought after seat in the Republican Primary is County Commissioner Precinct 1. Those who will appear on the ballot are Bobby Manshack, Gary Hinote, Johnny Trahan, Ryan Peabody and Shirley Zimmerman. This race will most likely end in a runoff election May 24.

County Commissioner Precinct 3 voters will choose from John Banken and John Gothia. Two names will appear for the position of Tax Assessor-Collector, Debbie (Dubois) Meaux and Karen Fisher. County Clerk candidates who filed are Brandy Robertson and Trish Williams. For Sherriff, voters countywide will choose between David W. Smith and Keith Merritt.

There are two Constable positions that are contested. For Precinct 2 David A. Cagle and Jeremiah W. Gunter will be the choices and for Precinct 4 Jimmy Lane Mooney and Weldon Peveto will be on the ballot.

Uncontested Constable seats include Precinct 1 with Chris Humble on the ballot and Precinct 3 candidate Mark Philpott.

Other uncontested races and the candidates who filed are: District Judge, 128th Judicial District, Courtney Burch Arkeen; District Judge, 163rd Judicial District, Dennis Powell; County Attorney, John Kimbrough and Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 2, Troy Johnson.

Bridge City I.S.D. will accept applications to be included on the ballot for a place on the Bridge City I.S.D. School Board of Trustees beginning January 20. Applications will be accepted through February 19. Candidates may apply at the Superintendent’s Office at 1031 West Roundbunch by mail or in person at the same address between 7:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday-Friday or until 5 p.m. on the final day to file.