Presidential Disaster Declaration Granted For Texas Counties

Published 1:05 pm Wednesday, November 25, 2015

On Friday, November 20th, Governor Greg Abbott requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration for Texas counties due to damage sustained from the severe weather and flooding in October. The President this morning granted the request for Individual Assistance for 15 counties that will aid Texans as they continue to recover and rebuild. The President also granted disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

“I want to thank the President and FEMA for their swift response to Texas’ request for a federal disaster declaration,” said Governor Abbott. “Texas looks forward to working with its FEMA partners to ensure those in need receive the assistance necessary to start rebuilding their lives.”

Governor Abbott requested Individual Assistance for Bastrop, Brazoria, Caldwell, Comal, Galveston, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Travis, Willacy, and Wilson Counties.