BC rules 24-4A CC roost again; LC-M’s Peveto nabs first

Published 11:05 am Monday, October 19, 2015

VIDOR — Once again the Bridge City boys cross country team ruled the roost at the District 24-4A Cross Country Championships at Claiborne Park Monday morning while Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s Eli Peveto took home top individual honors.

LC-M’s Peveto covered the 5K course in 17 minutes, 18.98 seconds to capture the top medal.

Meanwhile, the Cardinals cruised to yet another team title.

Kyler Morse led the Cardinals with a second-place finish of 17:23.46. He was followed by teammates Ruben Valencia (third, 17:34.29), Graydon Glover (fourth, 17:36.64), Isaiah Maldonadfo (eighth, 18:07.90), Edward Doan (12th, 18:55.72), Nolan Moore (18th, 19:38.79) and Kollin Smith (27th, 20:37.77).

The Cardinals won the team title with 29 points followed by LC-M (41), Hamshire-Fannett (83), Orangefield (96), Silsbee (120), Hardin-Jefferson (143) and West Orange-Stark (179).

Behind Peveto for LC-M was Rayce Piper (fifth, 17:48.26), Blake Kresser (seventh, 18:05.72), Cameron Blanchard (13th, 19:09.01), Jackson Baeza (15th, 19:18.73), JC Copley (31st, 21:03.17) and Brad Couture (36th, 21:55.78).

Matthew Rainey led Orangefield, finishing 10th with a 18:39.49. He was followed by teammates Joseph Castro (16th, 19:32.25), Ryan Deutsch (19th, 19:51.86), Julian Montayo (25th, 20:29.68), Andrew Worthy (26th, 20:31.87), Robert Kearns (28th, 20:40.19) and Joshua Pennington (34th, 21:49.47.)

Albert Davis paced WO-S, finishing 29th with a 20:59.05. He was followed by teammates Tarek Riley (32nd, 21:14.14), Gregory Thompson (33rd, 21:23.08), Jared Dupre (42nd, 23:53.42), Kevin Richard (43rd, 23:53.70), Javondrick Winbush (44th, 23:55.26) and Diamonte Polidore (46th, 26:22.54.)Hamshire-Fannett’s Camille Harris captured first-place in the girls division, covering the two miles in 12:05.72.

Hamshire-Fannett won the team title with 31 points followed by Bridge City (37), LC-M (91), Hardin-Jefferson (119), Orangefield (123) and Silsbee (125).

Caitlin Denison led the Lady Cardinals, finishing fourth with a 12:52.91. She was followed by teammates Brittany Fonville (fifth, 13:10.49), Katy Torbett (seventh, 13:41.11), Izzy Brooks (eighth, 13:43.25), McKenzie Murdock (13th, 14:26.45), Hannah Huff (19th, 15:42.28) and Riley Dugas (22nd, 16:26.57).

Olivia Keltz paced LC-M, finishing ninth with a 13:53.17. She was followed by teammates Kilon Gillis (11th, 14:16.93), Rylee Locke (18th, 15:26.08), Alora Jones (26th, 16:54.46) and Megan McKinley (27th, 17:01.81).

Hanna Lowe led Orangefield, placing 20th with a 16:08.36. She was followed by teammates Emmi Lummus (21st, 16:08.66), Paris Fregia (23rd, 16:46.68), Carley Dorman (29th, 17:12.26) and Bethany Green (30th, 17:14.42.)