OC teams impressive in BC CC Classic

Published 11:48 am Monday, September 7, 2015

VIDOR — Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s Eli Peveto captured first-place in the Division II Boys 5000-meter run at the Bridge City Cross Country Classic held at Claiborne Park last Saturday.

Peveto covered the terrain in 18 minutes, 11.92 seconds to net the top medal.

In the boys Division I 5000-meter run, Dayton’s Ricardo Sanchez took first-place with a time of 17:21.63 while Barbers Hill’s Ryan Wilson was second in a tight one at 17:21.79.

In Division I, Ruben Valencia led the host Cardinals, finishing 15th with a 18:27.84. He was followed by teammates Graydon Glover (17th, 18:34.75), Isaiah Maldonado (27th, 19:29.92), Kyler Morse (30th, 19:40.64), Edward Doan (34th, 19:45.76), Nolan Moore (39th, 20:11.33), and Adam Mattia (43rd, 21:7.25).Orangefield’s Luke Pennington was 46th with a 21:30.28. He was followed by teammates Robbie Kearne (48th, 21:41.77), Drew Worthy (49th, 21:48.83) and Julian Montayo (56th, 22:36.37).

Barbers Hill took the Division I team title with 36 points while Huffman got second with 72 points in the nine-team field.

LC-M’s Peveto dominated the Division II race. Silsbee’s Bryson Jones was a distant second with a 18:58.83.

LC-M’s Rayce Piper was third for the Bears with a 19:13.49 followed by teammates Blake Kresser (eighth, 20:35.70), Cameron Blanchard (20th, 21:44.73), Jackson Baeze (26th, 22:44.42) and Brad Couture (38th, 23:38.32).

Silsbee took the Division II team title with 45 points and LC-M was a close second in the eight-team field, finishing with 45 points.

In the girls Division II action, the Bridge City Lady Cardinals took the team title with 30 points while Hamshire-Fannett was second with 40.

Hamshire-Fannett’s Camille Harris was first with a time of 12:33.22. H-F’s Lilly Sachitano was second with a 13:15.84.

Bridge City’s Caitlin Denison nabbed third with a 13:38.95 followed by teammates Mackenzie Murdock (fifth, 13:41.58), Brittany Fonville (sixth, 13:57.37), Brinley Bell (seventh, 14:58.10), Katy Torbett (10th, 15:25.55), Izzy Brooks (18th, 16:33.45), and Riley Dugas (28th, 17:22.39).

Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s Olivia Keltz was eighth with a 15:04.27 followed by teammates Rylee Locke (26th, 17:12.55), Kilon Gillis (17:23.65) and Meghan McKinley (45th, 20:17.81).

Beaumont Kelly’s Caroline Kirschner won the girls Division I race with a time of 12:26.61. St. Thomas Aquinas’ Meghan Becerra was second with a 12:47.50.

Huffman Hargrave took the Division I girls team title with 29 points while St. Thomas Aquinas was second with 40.