WO-S’ Andersons, BC’s Shugart make TSWA All-State

Published 8:39 am Thursday, July 30, 2015

West Orange-Stark graduated twins Aidan Anderson and Grant Anderson continue to receive accolades along with Bridge City standout Chase Shugart.

The Anderson twins were named First Team All-State by the Texas Sportswriters Association after helping lead the Mustangs all the way to the Class 4A State Championship Game.

Aidan made it as a pitcher. He finished 11-3 on the season with a 1.43 earned run average and had 118 strikeouts in 88 1/3 innings of work. He tossed a complete-game shutout in the state semifinals against El Campo.

Grant made the team as a catcher. He hit .374 and led the team in runs batted in (35), home runs (5), hits (46) and doubles (16).

The Anderson will continue to make their mark as they both signed to play college baseball at McNeese State University.

Shugart, who will play at The University of Texas, was a Second Team All-Stater. Shugart notched a 10-2 record on the mound with a 0.67 ERA. He also hit .544 at the plate with nine home runs and 27 RBI.

Here is the entire 4A All-State Team:


Pitchers – Aidan Anderson, West Orange-Stark, sr.; Rixey Boyd, Argyle, sr.; Matthew Bumpas, Huffman Hargrave, sr.

Reliever – Anthony Godwin, Big Spring, jr.

Catcher – Garrett Oltmann, Giddings, sr.

First baseman – Dalton Horton, Center, sr.

Second baseman – Chad Quinn, El Campo, sr.

Shortstop – Andrew Saucedo, El Campo, sr.

Third baseman – Collin Chaney, Crandall, sr.

Outfielders – Westyn Swenson, Iowa Park, sr.; Clayton Harp, El Campo, sr.; Hudson Hopkins, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, sr.

Designated hitter – Grant Anderson, West Orange-Stark, sr.

Player of the year – Swenson, Iowa Park, sr.

Coach of the year – Ricky Griffin, Argyle


Pitchers – Connor Mushinski, Argyle, soph.; Chase Shugart, Bridge City, sr.; Jacob Mitchell, Center, sr.

Reliever – Tanner Sims, La Vernia, jr.

Catcher – (tie) Zane Grigsby, Bushland, sr.; Grayson Padgett, Hardin-Jefferson, sr.

First baseman – Michael Alvarez, Hidalgo, jr.

Second baseman – Bostyn Andrews, Bushland, soph.

Shortstop – Landen Kimbro, Iowa Park, jr.

Third baseman – Joshua Drennan, Vernon, sr.

Outfielders – Jacob Tobias, Van, sr.; Hunter Markwardt, Argyle, sr.; Tristan Gardner, La Vernia, sr.

Designated hitter – Eric Mahnke, Carrollton Ranchview, sr.


Pitchers – Jared Biddy, Iowa Park, sr.; Oscar Noguera, Hidalgo, sr.; Jesse Garcia, Robstown, jr.

Reliever – Brandon Talley, Princeton, jr.

Catcher – Ragan Forrest, Lorena, sr.

First baseman – Caleb Hanks, Lufkin Hudson, sr.; Brayden Nicholson, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, sr.

Second baseman – Blevin Burns, Gilmer, sr.

Shortstop – Travis Takata, Athens, sr.

Third baseman – (tie) Manuel Rios, Lubbock Estacado, jr.; Brenden Clanton, Levelland, sr.

Outfielders – Ryland Cox, Taylor, jr.; Hayden Fails, Sweeny, jr.; Mack Mueller, Abilene Wylie, jr.

Designated hitter – (tie) Jarod Bayless, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, sr.; Brock Brandl, El Campo, sr.