(Orange, Texas)

June 2, 2013

George W. Truett Theological Seminary announces Spring graduates

Special to The Leader
The Orange Leader

WACO, Texas — Baylor's George W. Truett Theological Seminary held its commencement ceremony at 6 p.m. Friday, May 17, at First Baptist Church in Waco. Dr. Matt Snowden, pastor at First Baptist Church, spoke to the 47 graduates participating in the ceremony.

Lance Mitchell Lormand graduated with Master of Theological Studies.

The Marshall was Michael W. Stroope, associate professor of Christian Missions. David E. Garland, Dean of George W. Truett Theological Seminary, professor of Christian Scriptures and the William M. Hinson Chair of Christian Scriptures, brought the welcome and introductions. Baylor's president, Ken Starr, conferred the degrees, assisted by Elizabeth Davis, Executive Vice President and Provost, Dean Garland and W. Dennis Tucker, Jr., associate dean for Academic Affairs.

President Starr and Dean Garland also presented several special awards. The Dr. Abda J. "Chip" Conyers Outstanding Student Award, went to Daniel Kent McAfee. The Dr. Ruth Ann Foster Outstanding Student Award, honored Mary Alice Birdwhistell. Recipients of the Outstanding Student Awards will receive a collection of books through the generosity of Smyth and Helwys Publishing, Inc. The George W. Truett Theological Seminary Outstanding Professor Award was presented to Brian C. Brewer, assistant professor of Christian Theology. The 2012-2013 Baylor University Outstanding Professor Award in Teaching went to W. Hulitt Gloer, professor of Preaching and Christian Scriptures, holder of the David E. Garland Chair of Preaching, and director of the Kyle Lake Center for Effective Preaching.