(Orange, Texas)

November 7, 2012

4 new candidates elected to OISD Trustees

Tommy Mann Jr.
The Orange Leader

ORANGEFIELD — Four new people have been elected to the Orangefield Independent School District’s Board of Trustees.

A record turnout of patrons of the Orangefield Independent School District made Tuesday’s election a nailbiter as four new candidates will become school board members in Orangefield ISD.

Nine candidates battled it out for the four open seats.

In Place I, Van “Bo” Henley defeated opponent Juan Gonzales 1,010 - 437.

In Place III, incumbent Nancy Ashworth lost her attempt for re-election as Jesse Fremont defeated Ashworth, 947-517.

The Place VI race featured candidates Johnny Dorman and Ronald Risinger in the closest contest of the OISD election. Risinger won his bid for the Place VI seat, 845-613.

Three candidates were hoping to win the vacated Place VII seat, but it was Brad Frye who came away with an overwhelming victory. Frye received 804 votes, while opponent Richard Durkin had 499 and candidate Jason Guidroz had 133.


Place I

Van “Bo” Henley 1,010

Juan Gonzales 437

Place III

Nancy Ashworth (i) 517

Jesse Fremont 947

Place VI

Johnny Dorman 613

Ronald Risinger 845

Place VII

Brad Frye 804

Richard Durkin 499

Jason Guidroz 133