(Orange, Texas)

Our Community

November 21, 2012

27 inducted in new LC-M Awards ceremony

LITTLE CYPRESS — Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD introduced the first inductees of the new LCM Awards at a reception prior to the LCM vs. Vidor game on Friday evening, Nov. 9. Dr. Pauline Hargrove hosted the reception, which included honorees, their family and friends. During halftime the honorees were introduced and received a very warm reception from the crowd of football fans.

Three award categories were established by the LC-M Board of Trustees, and nominations for these awards were submitted from individuals throughout the community.

The first award is the Hall of Fame, which is for those who have made an extraordinary impact on the Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD. The 2012 Honorees were Patty and Peter Cloeren and Robert E. (Ted) Miller. Mr. Miller’s wife, Carolyn, and children were on hand to accept his award. Mr. Miller was a long-time educator with LC-M, the first Athletic Director/Football Coach, and Little Cypress Elementary Principal. Patty and Peter Cloeren were selected for the Hall of Fame because of their significant contributions to the district and their volunteer work which has had a huge impact on the school and community.

The purpose of the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Distinguished Alumni Award is to recognize and honor Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, Little Cypress ISD, or Mauriceville ISD graduates of character and ability, who have distinguished themselves in a manner that brings honor and/or positive recognition to the LCM District and community.

Honorees in this category include J.J. Colburn, Dr. Mark Dunn, Dr. Todd Dunn, Dr. Philip Harmon, Dr. Lauren Crouch Harmon, Owen Burton, Rex Peveto, Dr. Keith Kyle and Mike Poutra.

LC-M CISD is proud to recognize and honor the men and women who have served or are serving our country in the military with the LC-M Military Wall of Honor. Any active military personnel or honorably discharged veteran who is an alumni or employee of Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, Mauriceville ISD or Little Cypress ISD is eligible. Graduates who are currently on active duty include Jordan Harmon, Theron Hulsey, Trevor Hulsey, Hayley Robinson, Josh Smith, and Steve Vasek. Honorably discharged graduates are Sam Cart and Jeff Simar. Derry Dunn and Rick Dean are both graduates and retired LCM staff members. Veterans on staff are Bernard Perricone and Levi Moore. Inductees Garlan Perry and Wilson O. Dunn were Mauriceville graduates and William Seal a Little Cypress graduate; all three are deceased.

Biographical information on each of these Award recipients will soon be available at, under the “Community” tab. Nomination forms for each category are also available on this page.

Nominee applications not selected are carried forward and reconsidered for a maximum of five years. For additional information, contact Sherry Combs at or call 1-409-883-2232, ext. 3.

Text Only
Our Community
  • Newly formed Historic Orange Preservation Empowerment to help homeowners

    Historic Orange Preservation Empowerment (HOPE) has been formed to “support, facilitate, and improve the economic, cultural, aesthetic, historic, social, and environmental setting, well-being, and quality of life in Orange and Orange County, Texas.”

    July 24, 2014

  • Land speaks to Kiwanis Kiwanis Club gets schooled on LSC-O’s EMS program

    Rickey Land believes there’s no reason why every person shouldn’t know CPR.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rotary lunch speaker Food for thought

    Dan Maher, Executive Director of the Southeast Texas Food Bank, was the guest speaker at Monday’s Vidor Rotary Club meeting. He spoke about the food bank's many programs.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scholarship Recipients Orange Rotary Club announces scholarship winners

    For years, Orange Rotary Club has supported its local youth with scholarship award opportunities for higher education.

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Award of Excellence Hester receives Award of Excellence

    Texas 4-H Youth and Development 2014 Salute to Excellence Honoree is Kathy Hester of Orange County. Mrs. Hester has been a part of 4-H for over 30 years. She is the club manager for the Mighty Pirates 4-H in Vidor.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dance conference to be held July 19

    Mt. Olive Baptist Church and M.B.S. Dance Company presents the “Something To Dance About” Dance Conference.

    July 11, 2014

  • New Officers Announced VHS Interact Club installs new officers

    The Vidor High School Interact officers for the 2014-2015 school year are, from second at left to right: President Taylor Frazier, Vice President Tiffany Charleston, Secretary Madison Marino and Treasurer Mallory Gray. They are pictured with Rotary Assistant District Governor Bobby Simon of Nederland. Interact is a Rotary affiliate.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Officers installed Vidor Rotary installs new officers

    Vidor Rotary Club officers for the 2014-2015 year, pictured with Assistant Governor Bobby Simon, are left to right, President Darrellyn Ford, Secretary Gayle Nagai, and Treasurer Johnnie Brown.

    July 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Business of the Month Business of the Month

    The Bridge City Chamber of Commerce recognized Reliable Dry Cleaners as its Business of the Month during its Monthly Networking Coffee held at the Bridge City Library earlier this month.

    June 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Literacy Promotion Month

    Vidor Rotarians Gayle Nagai, at left, and Leslie Williamson love literacy. Here they are joining in Rotary International's Literacy Promotion Month, June.

    June 28, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide