(Orange, Texas)

Our Community

September 26, 2013

State Board of Education honors the 2013 Heroes for Children

AUSTIN, Texas — The State Board of Education (SBOE) announced that 17 Texans who have provided collectively more than 100 years of volunteer service to Texas public schools were honored with the Heroes for Children award at the SBOE meeting on Friday.

The Heroes for Children honorees are selected by the State Board members and recognized for volunteering their time, talents and skills to help improve the public schools in their communities. Each hero receives a certificate of honor, a copy of the resolution scheduled for

board approval, and photographs commemorating the ceremony. Each hero also has his or her name engraved on a plaque that is permanently displayed at the Texas Education Agency  

The board recognized the school volunteers in a ceremony 9 a.m. Friday in Austin.   

Among the recipients of the 2013 Heroes for Children award was Demetrius Moffett of Orange for his voluntary service with West Orange-Cove CISD – SBOE District 7. Described as an exceptional role model, Moffett volunteers each week as part of the Build Great Readers Community Partnership at West Orange-Stark Elementary School.  Moffett works with the students on reading skills, vocabulary, pronunciation and comprehension. Uplifting and encouraging, he stresses the importance of reading and a good education. He also finds time to serve on the high school’s site-based decision making committee and is an advisory board member of the high school’s National Academy Foundation local governance committee.

Other recipients of the 2013 Heroes for Children award are:

• Kathy Carskadden (Hondo ISD – SBOE District 1)

• Susan Jacobs (El Paso ISD – SBOE District 1)

• Eloisa Mireles (Brownsville ISD – SBOE District 2)

• Kimberly Aldrich (Judson ISD – SBOE District 3)

• Eulla Krueger (Southwest ISD – SBOE District 3)

• Maria del Carmen Rivas (Galena Park ISD – SBOE District 4)

• Melanie Smith (Richland Springs ISD – SBOE District 5)

• Brette Machiorlette (Houston ISD – SBOE District 6)

• Ann Prochaska (Conroe ISD – SBOE District 8)

• Roger Waldrep (Texarkana ISD – SBOE District 9)

• Doug James (Leander ISD – SBOE District 10)

• Thomas P. Andress, Jr. (Arlington ISD – SBOE District 11)

• Ron Green (Richardson ISD – SBOE District 12)

• Sharon Johnston (Irving ISD – SBOE District 13)

• Ray Guttenfelder (Joshua ISD – SBOE District 14)

• Uwe Zeizinger (Wichita Falls ISD – SBOE District 15)

Text Only
Our Community
  • Scholarship Recipients Orange Rotary Club announces scholarship winners

    For years, Orange Rotary Club has supported its local youth with scholarship award opportunities for higher education.

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Award of Excellence Hester receives Award of Excellence

    Texas 4-H Youth and Development 2014 Salute to Excellence Honoree is Kathy Hester of Orange County. Mrs. Hester has been a part of 4-H for over 30 years. She is the club manager for the Mighty Pirates 4-H in Vidor.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dance conference to be held July 19

    Mt. Olive Baptist Church and M.B.S. Dance Company presents the “Something To Dance About” Dance Conference.

    July 11, 2014

  • New Officers Announced VHS Interact Club installs new officers

    The Vidor High School Interact officers for the 2014-2015 school year are, from second at left to right: President Taylor Frazier, Vice President Tiffany Charleston, Secretary Madison Marino and Treasurer Mallory Gray. They are pictured with Rotary Assistant District Governor Bobby Simon of Nederland. Interact is a Rotary affiliate.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Officers installed Vidor Rotary installs new officers

    Vidor Rotary Club officers for the 2014-2015 year, pictured with Assistant Governor Bobby Simon, are left to right, President Darrellyn Ford, Secretary Gayle Nagai, and Treasurer Johnnie Brown.

    July 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Business of the Month Business of the Month

    The Bridge City Chamber of Commerce recognized Reliable Dry Cleaners as its Business of the Month during its Monthly Networking Coffee held at the Bridge City Library earlier this month.

    June 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Literacy Promotion Month

    Vidor Rotarians Gayle Nagai, at left, and Leslie Williamson love literacy. Here they are joining in Rotary International's Literacy Promotion Month, June.

    June 28, 2014

  • Dawn Fournier Neches FCU promotes assistant vice presidents

    Jason Landry, President and CEO of Neches Federal Credit Union proudly announces the promotion of Dawn Fournier, Kristin Butler, Jill Sandberg and Alta Frazier.

    June 27, 2014 4 Photos

  • Lunch bunch speaker Talking with the 'Lunch Bunch'

    The guest speaker for Lunch Bunch at the Vidor Public Library on June 19 was Rebekah Maxwell.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Employees of Month Employees of the Month

    The Bridge City Chamber of Commerce recognized Officer Timothy Reeves, second from left, and Officer Jesse Byrd, second from right, of the Bridge City Police Department as its Employees of the Month during the monthly Networking Coffee event held earlier this month at the Bridge City Public Library. Pictured, from left to right, are Bridge City Chamber Ambassador Dave Derosier, Officer Timothy Reeves, Officer Jesse Byrd and Police Chief Paul Davis.

    June 25, 2014 1 Photo

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide