(Orange, Texas)


September 26, 2013

State Board of Education honors the 2013 Heroes for Children

AUSTIN, Texas — The State Board of Education (SBOE) announced that 17 Texans who have provided collectively more than 100 years of volunteer service to Texas public schools were honored with the Heroes for Children award at the SBOE meeting on Friday.

The Heroes for Children honorees are selected by the State Board members and recognized for volunteering their time, talents and skills to help improve the public schools in their communities. Each hero receives a certificate of honor, a copy of the resolution scheduled for

board approval, and photographs commemorating the ceremony. Each hero also has his or her name engraved on a plaque that is permanently displayed at the Texas Education Agency  

The board recognized the school volunteers in a ceremony 9 a.m. Friday in Austin.   

Among the recipients of the 2013 Heroes for Children award was Demetrius Moffett of Orange for his voluntary service with West Orange-Cove CISD – SBOE District 7. Described as an exceptional role model, Moffett volunteers each week as part of the Build Great Readers Community Partnership at West Orange-Stark Elementary School.  Moffett works with the students on reading skills, vocabulary, pronunciation and comprehension. Uplifting and encouraging, he stresses the importance of reading and a good education. He also finds time to serve on the high school’s site-based decision making committee and is an advisory board member of the high school’s National Academy Foundation local governance committee.

Other recipients of the 2013 Heroes for Children award are:

• Kathy Carskadden (Hondo ISD – SBOE District 1)

• Susan Jacobs (El Paso ISD – SBOE District 1)

• Eloisa Mireles (Brownsville ISD – SBOE District 2)

• Kimberly Aldrich (Judson ISD – SBOE District 3)

• Eulla Krueger (Southwest ISD – SBOE District 3)

• Maria del Carmen Rivas (Galena Park ISD – SBOE District 4)

• Melanie Smith (Richland Springs ISD – SBOE District 5)

• Brette Machiorlette (Houston ISD – SBOE District 6)

• Ann Prochaska (Conroe ISD – SBOE District 8)

• Roger Waldrep (Texarkana ISD – SBOE District 9)

• Doug James (Leander ISD – SBOE District 10)

• Thomas P. Andress, Jr. (Arlington ISD – SBOE District 11)

• Ron Green (Richardson ISD – SBOE District 12)

• Sharon Johnston (Irving ISD – SBOE District 13)

• Ray Guttenfelder (Joshua ISD – SBOE District 14)

• Uwe Zeizinger (Wichita Falls ISD – SBOE District 15)

Text Only
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide