(Orange, Texas)

Our Schools

November 17, 2012

27 inducted in new LC-M Awards ceremony

LITTLE CYPRESS — Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD introduced the first inductees of the new LCM Awards at a reception prior to the LCM vs. Vidor game on Friday evening, Nov. 9. Dr. Pauline Hargrove hosted the reception, which included honorees, their family and friends. During halftime the honorees were introduced and received a very warm reception from the crowd of football fans.

Three award categories were established by the LC-M Board of Trustees, and nominations for these awards were submitted from individuals throughout the community.

The first award is the Hall of Fame, which is for those who have made an extraordinary impact on the Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD. The 2012 Honorees were Patty and Peter Cloeren and Robert E. (Ted) Miller. Mr. Miller’s wife, Carolyn, and children were on hand to accept his award. Mr. Miller was a long-time educator with LC-M, the first Athletic Director/Football Coach, and Little Cypress Elementary Principal. Patty and Peter Cloeren were selected for the Hall of Fame because of their significant contributions to the district and their volunteer work which has had a huge impact on the school and community.

The purpose of the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Distinguished Alumni Award is to recognize and honor Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, Little Cypress ISD, or Mauriceville ISD graduates of character and ability, who have distinguished themselves in a manner that brings honor and/or positive recognition to the LCM District and community.

Honorees in this category include J.J. Colburn, Dr. Mark Dunn, Dr. Todd Dunn, Dr. Philip Harmon, Dr. Lauren Crouch Harmon, Owen Burton, Rex Peveto, Dr. Keith Kyle and Mike Poutra.

LC-M CISD is proud to recognize and honor the men and women who have served or are serving our country in the military with the LC-M Military Wall of Honor. Any active military personnel or honorably discharged veteran who is an alumni or employee of Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, Mauriceville ISD or Little Cypress ISD is eligible. Graduates who are currently on active duty include Jordan Harmon, Theron Hulsey, Trevor Hulsey, Hayley Robinson, Josh Smith, and Steve Vasek. Honorably discharged graduates are Sam Cart and Jeff Simar. Derry Dunn and Rick Dean are both graduates and retired LCM staff members. Veterans on staff are Bernard Perricone and Levi Moore. Inductees Garlan Perry and Wilson O. Dunn were Mauriceville graduates and William Seal a Little Cypress graduate; all three are deceased.

Biographical information on each of these Award recipients will soon be available at, under the “Community” tab. Nomination forms for each category are also available on this page.

Nominee applications not selected are carried forward and reconsidered for a maximum of five years. For additional information, contact Sherry Combs at or call 1-409-883-2232, ext. 3.

Text Only
Our Schools
  • Land speaks to Kiwanis Kiwanis Club gets schooled on LSC-O’s EMS program

    Rickey Land believes there’s no reason why every person shouldn’t know CPR.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Officers Announced VHS Interact Club installs new officers

    The Vidor High School Interact officers for the 2014-2015 school year are, from second at left to right: President Taylor Frazier, Vice President Tiffany Charleston, Secretary Madison Marino and Treasurer Mallory Gray. They are pictured with Rotary Assistant District Governor Bobby Simon of Nederland. Interact is a Rotary affiliate.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dance Team Triumphs LCJH drill team secures awards at Galveston contest

    The Little Cypress Junior High Golden Dazzler Dance Team attended American Dance/Drill Team camp in Galveston, Texas from June 24 to June 26.

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • KVLU radio adds new programming

     Lamar University public radio 91.3 KVLU has announced the acquisition of two programs new to the station’s Saturday afternoon schedule.

    July 5, 2014

  • Laura Daleo Daleo, McNeil receive Catholic Daughters of America scholarships

    Two local high school students have been selected as recipients of an annual scholarship award from a local organization.

    June 20, 2014 2 Photos

  • LSC-O to resume ACE program

    Due to the demand for highly qualified teachers who have received face-to-face instruction by highly experienced master teachers, the Alternative Certification for Educators Program, the ACE program, at Lamar State College–Orange will restart in fall 2014 on a limited basis.

    June 20, 2014

  • Intrigued by Robotics.JPG Intrigued by robotics, student heads to Austin

    Marissa Gray, student at Community Christian School and a FIRST Robotics FRC 5287 team member was accepted to First Bytes at UT in Austin.

    June 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Killgo speaks Killgo shares info with Friends of the Library

    Dr. Jay Killgo, Superintendent of Schools for the Vidor Independent School District, was the guest speaker at the Vidor Friends of the Library meeting this past week. Killgo discussed goals for the upcoming year for Vidor ISD and shared success stories, such as improved test scores and student achievement.

    June 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Summer Camp Fun VISD offers fun summer camp events

    Boys in Vidor ISD Community Education’s summer basketball camp had a great time this past week learning skills and drills. Other camps, which are open to anyone, not just Vidor residents, this summer are cooking, animals, princess camp, pirates, girls’ volleyball, drama, arts and crafts, science, soccer, and running. For more information, call 409-951-9700.

    June 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • WO-C CISD announces Summer Feeding Program

    The West Orange-Cove Consolidated Independent School District’s Summer Feeding program is in operation now at two locations: West Orange-Stark Elementary and West Orange-Stark High School.

    June 15, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide