(Orange, Texas)

December 13, 2013

Lamar Institute of Technology to graduate 230

Special to The Leader
The Orange Leader

BEAUMONT — Lamar Institute of Technology will award 230 degrees and certificates at its commencement ceremony on Dec. 13, 2013.

The event will take place at 7 p.m. at the Montagne Center.

Commencement speaker will be the Honorable John B. Stevens Jr.

Judge Stevens is the elected Criminal District Judge for Jefferson County. A native of Port Arthur, he grew up in Groves and graduated from Lamar University with a bachelor’s degree in government.

After attending the University of Texas at Austin for post-baccalaureate work in business, he graduated from the University of Houston Law School with a doctor of jurisprudence. He also earned a master of social science degree from Syracuse University in Syracuse, N.Y.

Stevens began his legal career as an assistant criminal district attorney for Jefferson County. In 1985, he was appointed an assistant United States attorney for the Eastern District of Texas. He was the Criminal Division Chief for the district and the head of the Beaumont Division. Stevens was the lead prosecutor in the capital murder cases of John King and Lawrence Brewer, who killed James Byrd of Jasper.

For his efforts in the James Byrd case, Stevens was awarded the Justice Department’s highest honor, the Attorney General’s Award for exceptional service. He also received the Humanitarian Award from the National Conference for Community and Justice.

He is married to Marcia, and they are two daughters, Kara and Allison.

Candidates for associate of applied science degrees are”

Bridge City: Kay Nelda Williams, homeland security; Mathew Kyle Austin, Taylor Wayne Day, instrumentation technology; Steven Anthony Lapeyrolerie, Nicole Molina Ledezma, process operating technology.

Groves: Kane Owen Benoit, computer drafting technology; Sean Aaron Ramirez, computer networking & troubleshooting technology; Russel Allen Campbell, emergency medical services; Shawn James Cooper, Christopher Wayne Guthrie,  Jacob Michael Klima, instrumentation technology; Brandy Madison Ramirez, process operating technology; Nicholas James Howard, welding technology.

Lumberton: Courtney Renee Carnley, William Andrew Dougherty, computer drafting technology; Jeremy Allison Cole, Kenneth Ross Lemm, Jonathan Luke West, computer networking & troubleshooting technology; Nicole Doreen grant, emergency medical services; Melissa Nunez, homeland security crime scene technician; Kalyn F. Newton, management development; Mark Edward Rothlisberger, office technology; Morgan Williams Faul, Andrea Nicole Richardson, process operating technology.

Nederland: Candace Renae Nini, child care & development; Brennan Joseph Hebert, Steven Anthony Niedenthal, computer drafting technology; Michael Jude Daigrepont, Nicholas Ryan Jacobs, Richard Aromin Opina, computer networking & troubleshooting technology; Bret Alan Chamblee, criminal justice security threat group; Jana Marie Morrison, diagnostic medical sonography; Anthony Shea Bienvenu, instrumentation technology; Ethan Lee Weatherly, management development; Markiese Ja’Von Cohea, Scott Van Nguyen, Derrick Servis, process operating technology.

Orange: Lynli Fay Bonin, computer drafting technology; John Adren Keen, computer networking & troubleshooting technology; Camille Christina Daniels, diagnostic medical sonography; Mathew Ryan King, Robert Michael McGill, Lawrence Richard Sorenson, instrumentation technology; Chassady Leonza Dixon, real estate; April Amanda Pond, process operating technology.

Orangefield: Jonathon Michael DeRamus, instrumentation technology.

Port Arthur: Marco Antonio Machado, Viet Nguyen-Hoai Tran, computer drafting technology; Jason Samuel Cabrera, Andrew Paul Gamez, computer networking & troubleshooting technology; Dakayla Dane Richard, diagnostic medical sonography; Samuel F. Cofer, Reagan Keith Thibodeaux, instrumentation technology; Iris Antoinette Butler, occupational safety & health technology; Victor Manuel Ayala, Sheena Di’nysha Dumas, Arnold Oceguera, Peter David Ruysenaars, Bryan Adam Sheppard, process operating technology.

Port Neches: Austin James Hebert, computer drafting technology; Holden Ethan English, industrial mechanics.

Silsbee: Jason Paul Hollyfield, computer drafting technology; Amie O’Dell Simmons, diagnostic cardiac sonography; Katrina Renee’ Smith, diagnostic medical sonography; Kevin Wayne Hardy, Erik Samuel Toups, instrumentation technology; James Willis Hansen, process operating technology.

Thicket: Brian Jacob Cotton, instrumentation technology.

Vidor: Mark Allan Harris, computer drafting technology; Spencer Colton Leeper, Donald Eugene Louviere, computer networking & troubleshooting technology; Karen Rena Hopson, Jenarose Leger Kibodeaux, diagnostic cardiac sonography; Jacob Michael Crosby, industrial mechanics; Brian Wesley Patton, instrumentation technology; Brittany Dawn Davila, management development; Lindsey Leigh Bryant, office technology; Darin Wayne Hinch, process operating technology.

Candidates for certificates of completion are:

Bridge City: Kade Jorden Tolar, law enforcement.

Groves: Brittany Nichole Moore, health informatics; Trevor Dean Noyola, law enforcement.

Lumberton: Beau Alexander Champagne, Michael John Deromie II, Matthew Jared Munselle, Haley Renee Walters, law enforcement.

Nederland: Shaw Christopher Campbell, air conditioning; Travis Clark Blount, Rachel Marie Lindsay, emergency medical technology-paramedic; Aaron Nicholas Gautreaux, Cameron Nicholas Lagrappe, fire protection technology; John H. Campbell, Caleb J. Mitchell, law enforcement.

Orange: Mary Darlene Pearson, emergency medical technology-paramedic; Crystal McNeely Fielder, Dylan Bryant Mulhollan, Kirk Lynn Smith Jr., law enforcement; Chassady Leonza Dixon, real estate.

Port Arthur: Duston Wayne Chappell, Jeremy Allen Jacob, Patrick Adrian Murphy, Sethius Guib Rogers, fire protection technology; Marwan Cornejo, Jamarcus Dontae Davis, Scott Alan Goss Jr., Luis Jesus Sanchez, Terry T. Tran, law enforcement; Austin Jewel Nunez-Vessel, welding.

Port Neches: Lynsey Denae Johnson, Stephen Vincent Ward, law enforcement; Lynda Gay Lindsey, real estate.

Silsbee: Christopher Michael Willis, fire protection technology; Thomas Earl Eason, utility line technology.

Sour Lake: Amber D. McMichael, law enforcement.

Vidor: Aron Paul Knapp, Joseph Lee Snider, law enforcement; Brent L. Cole, occupation safety & health.