(Orange, Texas)

Our Schools

September 26, 2013

State Board of Education honors the 2013 Heroes for Children

AUSTIN, Texas — The State Board of Education (SBOE) announced that 17 Texans who have provided collectively more than 100 years of volunteer service to Texas public schools were honored with the Heroes for Children award at the SBOE meeting on Friday.

The Heroes for Children honorees are selected by the State Board members and recognized for volunteering their time, talents and skills to help improve the public schools in their communities. Each hero receives a certificate of honor, a copy of the resolution scheduled for

board approval, and photographs commemorating the ceremony. Each hero also has his or her name engraved on a plaque that is permanently displayed at the Texas Education Agency  

The board recognized the school volunteers in a ceremony 9 a.m. Friday in Austin.   

Among the recipients of the 2013 Heroes for Children award was Demetrius Moffett of Orange for his voluntary service with West Orange-Cove CISD – SBOE District 7. Described as an exceptional role model, Moffett volunteers each week as part of the Build Great Readers Community Partnership at West Orange-Stark Elementary School.  Moffett works with the students on reading skills, vocabulary, pronunciation and comprehension. Uplifting and encouraging, he stresses the importance of reading and a good education. He also finds time to serve on the high school’s site-based decision making committee and is an advisory board member of the high school’s National Academy Foundation local governance committee.

Other recipients of the 2013 Heroes for Children award are:

• Kathy Carskadden (Hondo ISD – SBOE District 1)

• Susan Jacobs (El Paso ISD – SBOE District 1)

• Eloisa Mireles (Brownsville ISD – SBOE District 2)

• Kimberly Aldrich (Judson ISD – SBOE District 3)

• Eulla Krueger (Southwest ISD – SBOE District 3)

• Maria del Carmen Rivas (Galena Park ISD – SBOE District 4)

• Melanie Smith (Richland Springs ISD – SBOE District 5)

• Brette Machiorlette (Houston ISD – SBOE District 6)

• Ann Prochaska (Conroe ISD – SBOE District 8)

• Roger Waldrep (Texarkana ISD – SBOE District 9)

• Doug James (Leander ISD – SBOE District 10)

• Thomas P. Andress, Jr. (Arlington ISD – SBOE District 11)

• Ron Green (Richardson ISD – SBOE District 12)

• Sharon Johnston (Irving ISD – SBOE District 13)

• Ray Guttenfelder (Joshua ISD – SBOE District 14)

• Uwe Zeizinger (Wichita Falls ISD – SBOE District 15)

Text Only
Our Schools
  • BCISD to hold community meeting Thursday

    The Bridge City Independent School District wants to hear from its citizens at a special meeting this Thursday evening.

    July 30, 2014

  • Instructor recognized LSC-O instructor receives international recognition

    An instructor at LSC-O has receive international recognition for her work as an instructor in information technology.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Trustee Welcome to the Board

    Nathaniel Colbert, standing at left, was officially sworn in earlier this week as the newest member of the West Orange-Cove Consolidated Independent School District’s Board of Trustees.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Land speaks to Kiwanis Kiwanis Club gets schooled on LSC-O’s EMS program

    Rickey Land believes there’s no reason why every person shouldn’t know CPR.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Officers Announced VHS Interact Club installs new officers

    The Vidor High School Interact officers for the 2014-2015 school year are, from second at left to right: President Taylor Frazier, Vice President Tiffany Charleston, Secretary Madison Marino and Treasurer Mallory Gray. They are pictured with Rotary Assistant District Governor Bobby Simon of Nederland. Interact is a Rotary affiliate.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dance Team Triumphs LCJH drill team secures awards at Galveston contest

    The Little Cypress Junior High Golden Dazzler Dance Team attended American Dance/Drill Team camp in Galveston, Texas from June 24 to June 26.

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • KVLU radio adds new programming

     Lamar University public radio 91.3 KVLU has announced the acquisition of two programs new to the station’s Saturday afternoon schedule.

    July 5, 2014

  • Laura Daleo Daleo, McNeil receive Catholic Daughters of America scholarships

    Two local high school students have been selected as recipients of an annual scholarship award from a local organization.

    June 20, 2014 2 Photos

  • LSC-O to resume ACE program

    Due to the demand for highly qualified teachers who have received face-to-face instruction by highly experienced master teachers, the Alternative Certification for Educators Program, the ACE program, at Lamar State College–Orange will restart in fall 2014 on a limited basis.

    June 20, 2014

  • Intrigued by Robotics.JPG Intrigued by robotics, student heads to Austin

    Marissa Gray, student at Community Christian School and a FIRST Robotics FRC 5287 team member was accepted to First Bytes at UT in Austin.

    June 19, 2014 1 Photo

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide