orangeleader.com (Orange, Texas)

Opinion

Opinion
  • Uncle Ed: Vain as a peacock, cool as a cucumber

    He was a bright, witty and dapper man who did his best to look as young as he could for as long as he could.

    May 29, 2013

  • My five cents...

    As I write this column, our country is preparing to observe Memorial Day, a day we remember the military men and women who gave their lives serving our nation.

    May 25, 2013

  • The President’s next act

    How can it be that with Washington simmering in scandals, with Republicans (not to mention talk-show hosts) using the "I" word (impeachment) with abandon, with calls to bring back Ken Starr (of Bill Clinton/Monica Lewinsky fame), President Obama's job approval rating is holding steady at around 50 percent, thank you very much?

    May 25, 2013

  • Snooping threat to the free press

    In “All the President’s Men,” reporter Bob Woodward conducts late-night meetings with a source in a parking garage.

    May 22, 2013

  • Life lessons from a trial lawyer

    “I need a hero. I'm holding out for a hero ’til the end of the night.
    He’s gotta be strong
    And he’s gotta be fast
    And he’s gotta be fresh from the fight”
    — Jim Steinman

    May 22, 2013

  • Seizure of AP phone records an insult to independent press

    Distrust of government secrecy has been elevated to an exceptional level with the disclosure the Justice Department covertly examined two months of Associated Press phone records to determine who leaked details to the AP about a foiled terrorist plot.

    May 18, 2013

  • We've become our own worst enemies

    The past couple months have been marked by a seeming unprecedented number of man-made tragedies, as distinct from those caused by violent outbursts of the natural world, such as earthquakes, hurricanes and tsunamis.

    May 17, 2013

  • Obama out to pass the blame once again

    One big reason President Obama has had such a tough week is that, for once, nobody – not even members of his own party and his usually adoring press corps – is going to buy his standard line that anything wrong is due to “the mess I inherited.”

    May 17, 2013

  • Not returning calls is bad business

    News out of Pinehurst Tuesday morning was alarming concerning a Beaumont business local city leaders are trying to contact over the phone.

    May 15, 2013

  • Flashbacks revive memories of a tragedy

    I remember the day like it was yesterday – Dec. 15, 1967, a few minutes before 5 p.m. in Ironton, Ohio.

    May 15, 2013

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide