(Orange, Texas)

July 9, 2013

Sepulvado installed as Lions Club president

Special to The Leader
Orange Lions Club

ORANGE — The Orange Lions Club celebrated its new officers during its annual installation banquet recently.

The Orange Lions Club held its annual installation banquet earlier this month and inducted Robert Sepulvado as president of the organization. Stump Weatherford, immediate past president, inducted the 2013-2014 officers.

Inducted were Chris Kovatch; 1st Vice President, Secretary and Carnival Chair, Tara Lanphar; 2nd Vice President, Randall Morris; Treasurer, Ron Cowling; Financial Secretary, Lois Hughes; Membership Secretary, Butch Campbell; Lion Tamer and Ed Freiburg; Bulletin Editor.

One year Directors inducted were Marlene Merritt, Harold Welch, Bill Smith and Ron Rudeseal. Two year Directors are Dan Mohon, James Simar, Curt Leger and Rusty Honeycutt. Three year Directors are John Martin, J.W. Smith, Debbie Hughes and David Monton.

Weatherford gave special appreciation awards to Lions for their dedicated service for this past year.

Debbie Hughes received the Leo Sponsor Award from Lions Clubs International President.

Lee Roy Boehme Jr. received a special plaque of naming the Ferris Wheel “Lee Roy” for his service as chair for 40 plus years.

Carlene Ortolon and Harold Welch received the Jack Weich Fellow, founder of the Texas Lions Camp, which is the highest award given by TLC.

The Melvin Jones Fellow, founder of Lions Clubs International, the highest recognition for dedication and service, were given to John Backer, Jay Hall, Lois Hughes and Jim Dwight.

Recognition went to Rusty Honeycutt as the club’s Rookie of the Year.

Special recognition was given to Jim Dwight as Lion of the Year.

Weatherford was given a Texas Lions Eye Bank, “Wall of Honor” award by the club.