(Orange, Texas)

Local News

May 14, 2014

Saturday election results could spark run-off in Orange

ORANGE — Several changes will take place in the coming weeks following this past Saturday’s elections, while one race may need a run-off.

The May 10 general election will result in a handful of changes on several city councils and school boards, while a handful of incumbents won re-election and will serve another term in their respective positions.

In the City of Orange election, candidate Larry Spears Jr. received the majority of votes in the race for the Position 6 seat with a total of 354 votes, while candidate Cullin Smith with 318 votes and incumbent Charles Guillory with 183 votes.

Since the City of Orange council was restructured a couple of years ago due to redistricting, a run-off election could be in the future because a majority vote of more than 50 percent is required since all seats are three year terms.

Orange City Council is expected to canvass the election results on May 20 and could potentially call for a run-off election between Spears and Smith with a target date of June 21.

The City of Pinehurst had three candidates seeking two seats on its city council this past Saturday. Incumbent John Zerko was re-elected to his seat with 144 votes and George “Mike” Anderson secured the other seat with 133 votes, while Suzy Permenter had 109 votes.

In the City of Vidor election, incumbent Jason Woodard won re-election to the Ward 3 seat by defeating challenger Rusty Morris, 193-57.

The West Orange-Cove Consolidated Independent School District had two seats open this election after the two incumbents opted not to seek re-election. Four new candidates stepped forward, but it was Ruth Hancock and Sarah Jefferson-Simon who secured the seats with 560 and 522 votes, respectively. Shirley (Martin) Joseph had 278 votes and Ricky Blagburn had 221 votes.

In the Vidor Independent School District’s Board of Trustees election, Kimberly Crossley was re-elected to her Position 6 seat as she beat challenger Paul Devon Davis by a count of 436-179.

Incumbent Keith Wallace retained his seat as Precinct 1 commissioner on the Orange County Navigation and Port District by defeating challenger Carroll Holt, 1,232 to 750.

In the Orange County Drainage District election in Precinct 3, newcomer Hal LaPray soared to victory with 352 votes over incumbent Karl Stephenson’s 113 votes and Woodrow “Woody” Dugas who had 84 votes.

The Mauriceville Municipal Utility District held its election this past Saturday as well with six candidates, including two incumbents, seeking three available positions. In the end it was challengers Nelda Burton, 167 votes; John W. Sherwin, 145 votes; and Corey Oldbury, 138 votes, winning the seats. Incumbent Bill Hutto had 122 votes, incumbent Tommy Smith had 94 votes and Terry Block received 61 votes.

The City of West Orange had six charter amendments on its election ballot and five of the six amendments were approved by voters, including the reauthorization of one-fourth of one percent sales tax be used for maintenance and repair of city streets. It was approved by a count of 83-15.

The only amendment which did not receive voter approval was the deletion of the requirement that the municipal court judge be a qualified elector and resident of the city. It failed by a vote of 59-39.

Text Only
Local News
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide