(Orange, Texas)

Local News

October 18, 2010

Early voting begins today for November elections

ORANGE — Early voting begins today in Orange County and continues through Oct. 29.

The Nov. 2 general election is quickly approaching and Orange County voters will once again head to the ballot box to let their voices be heard. Although there are many state races of interest, there is only one race local voters will be able to decide.

The race for the Orange County Commissioner Precinct 4 seat is the only contested race this election. Democratic candidate Percy Flanigan will square off against Republican candidate Jody Crump for the county position.

Earlier this year, Flanigan defeated current Precinct 4 commissioner Beamon Minton during the March Primary election.

Early voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday, Oct. 18 through Saturday, Oct. 23, and Monday, Oct. 25 through Friday, Oct. 29. Locations are the Orange Public Library, 220 N. Fifth St. in Orange; Bridge City Public Works Building, 220 Nitsche in Bridge City; First Baptist Church, 11540 State Highway 12 in Mauriceville; and the Raymond Gould Community Center, 385 Claiborne in Vidor.

Any Orange County registered voter may vote at any of the early voting locations, regardless of residence in Orange County. However, this is only during early voting. During the Nov. 2 General Election, each registered voter must submit a ballot at the respective voting location for that precinct.

Other races on the ballot, which are of local interest but uncontested, include Carl Thibodeaux, County Judge; Buddie Hahn, District Judge, 260th Judicial District; Mike Hamilton, State Rep., District 19; Mike Shuff, Judge, County Court at Law; Vickie Edgerly, District Clerk; Karen Jo Vance, County Clerk, Christy Khoury, County Treasurer; Rodney Price, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4.

Many state races are on the ballot, including Attorney General, State Comptroller, Railroad Commissioner, Commissioner of Agriculture and Lieutenant Governor, but the most watched race will be the one for Governor as incumbent Rick Perry faces off against Democratic challenger Bill White. Also in the race for governor are Libertarian candidate Kathie Glass and Green Party candidate Deb Shafto.

Kevin Brady, U.S. Representative for District 8, is being opposed by Democratic candidate Kent Hargett and Libertarian nominee Bruce West.

Text Only
Local News
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide