(Orange, Texas)

Local News

November 7, 2012

Deweyville ISD Board of Trustees gets a makeover

DEWEYVILLE — The Deweyville Independent School District’s Board of Trustees will have a different look very soon.

Residents of the Deweyville Independent School District turned out in large numbers this election and voted in three newcomers, along with one incumbent, to represent district patrons on the Board of Trustees.

Sandra Blakeney was the only incumbent to win re-election on Tuesday as she received 330 votes. Joining her on the school board will be Gary Brinson, 433 votes; Rodney Whitfield, 304 votes; and Jimmy Lavergne with 282 votes.

Incumbents Mack Koonce Jr. and Henry Stanley both fell short of the magic number as Koonce received 251 votes and Stanley received 258.

Candidates Greg Stanley, Robert “Tooter” Brinson and James Brown narrowly missed out on being elected as Greg Stanley received 278 votes, Robert Brinson had 266 and Brown had 262 votes.

Candidate Luke Smith received 186 votes, while write-in candidate Lori Thompson received 51 votes.


Gary Brinson 433

Sandra Blakeney 330

Rodney Whitfield 304

Jimmy Lavergne 282

Greg Stanley 278

Robert “Tooter” Brinson 266

James Brown 262

Henry Stanley 258

Mack Koonce Jr. 251

Luke Smith 186

Lori Thompson 51

Text Only
Local News
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide