(Orange, Texas)

Local News

June 30, 2013

Lamar State College-Orange salutes Spring 2013 graduates

ORANGE — David Dubose, Orange County Commissioner for Precinct One, was the featured speaker at the Lamar State College-Orange spring commencement held on Friday, May 10, at the Lutcher Theater.

Dubose attended Sam Houston State University where he studied pre-pharmacy and then transferred to the University of Houston’s College of Pharmacy where he earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy.  He later earned advanced certifications in Extemporaneous and Bulk Compounding, Aseptic Compounding, and Clinical Nutrition and is also a licensed nuclear pharmacist.  He worked for several pharmacy chains before opening his own successful retail pharmacy in Orange. Dubose helped to establish the Pharmacy Technician program and Lamar State College-Orange and was one of its first instructors.

LSC-O’s graduating class includes the following students:

Bridge City: Associate of Science (AS), Canaan Michael Barborek and Mariena Louise Nunnery, liberal arts; Tayla Bre'ane Breaux, Joshua Andrew Dial, Rebecca Leigh Lute Frederick, Lisa Marie Pickering and Toni Lou Kinnison Swain, business; Tommie Leigh Vercher, liberal arts; Alexis Kimberly Prestwood, natural science; Associate of Applied Science (AAS), David Waits Blackshear and Raymond Fuentes, upward mobility nursing; Dean E. Meyer and Seth Thomas Spruell; Justin Reid Worthy, process operating technology and Certificate of Completion process technology; Certificate of Completion, Carolina Peña, criminal justice corrections; Institutional Award, Sheila A. Harper, forensic science.

Buna: Associate of Arts (AA), Amber Brooke Sarver, teaching1; Associate of Science (AS), K?slynn Utah Brown, liberal arts; Katrina Elizabeth Smith Monson, liberal arts; Associate of Applied Science (AAS), Lonnie James Burks, process operating technology, Certificate of Completion, process technology; Crawford Belen Uribe, upward mobility nursing; Institutional Award, Shyann MaeLaverne Leatherwood, emergency medical services.

Dewyville: Associate of Science (AS), Jacob Sorelle Gorton and Autumn Blair Hardin, liberal arts.

Mauriceville: Associate of Science (AAS), Logan Thomas Holland, criminal justice

Text Only
Local News
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide