(Orange, Texas)

Sports Headlines

October 25, 2013

Cardinal CC teams dominate 21-3A Championships

VIDOR — Dominating the District 21-3A Cross Country Championships for the Bridge City CC teams was easy but the Cardinals and Lady Cardinals certainly deserve winning both titles at Claiborne Park for all of the hard work they have put forth.

The Cardinal boys dominated, taking the first seven places, paced by first-place finisher Conner Wilbur, who covered the three-mile terrain in 17 minutes and 49.71 seconds.

The Lady Cardinals, meanwhile, took five of the top seven places with Katelyn Potter winning the two-mile course in 13:08.83.

The Cardinal boys won the title with the highest score possible, which was a 15. Hamshire-Fannett was second with 71 points followed by Silsbee (97), Buna (114), Orangefield (132), Hardin-Jefferson (140), and West Orange-Stark (163).

Wilbur was joined in the top seven by teammates Graydon Glover (second, 17:53.00), Brent LeBleu (third, 18:05.03), Jordan Martin (fourth, 18:18.19), Seth Hartman (fifth, 18:22.88), Nick Marcotte (sixth, 18:29.76) and Russell Bozeman (seventh, 19:10.59).

The top 10 individual and top three teams advance to regionals.

Orangefield’s Matthew Rainey plucked a regional spot, finishing ninth with a 19:25.37. He was followed by teammates Carl Wiley (20th, 20:42.77), Jerimie Breaux (23rd, 21:20.43), Tryce Howard (39th, 23:08.77), Zack Willie (41st, 23:39.14), Ryan Posey (44th, 25:35.74) and Gerardo Santos (46th, 27:30.31).

Sean Cox paced WO-S, placing 12th with a 19:44.38. He was followed by teammates Brandon Joubert (31st, 22:04.03), Dorsey Robinson (38th, 23:07.85), Nick Carroll (4Oth, 23:26.92), Laquarious Paige (42nd, 24:13.16), and Johnny Rachal (43rd, 24:14.07).

Behind Potter for the Lady Cardinals were teammates Jessica Koopman (third, 13:44.88), Nikkiah Pulliam (fifth, 14:02.21), Olivia Satir (sixth, 14:09.26), Tori Richard (seventh, 14:15.11), Jennie Nguyen (13th, 14:54.56) and Hannah Story (15th, 15:04.54).

Orangefield’s Patis Fregia is heading to regionals after finishing eighth with a time of 14:24.79. She was followed by teammates Lauren Stout (14th, 14:55.18), Hanna Lowe (19th, 15:44.30), Jessica Caswell (23rd, 16:17.40), Emilee Adrio (25th, 16:43.75) and Lauren Nikki Smith (27th, 16:55.78).

The Lady Cards won the team title with 22 points followed by H-F (56), Buna (64), Orangefield (89) and Silsbee (142.).


Text Only
Sports Headlines
  • Big 1st frame propels Mustangs past Cardinals

    Using a monstrous six-run first inning, the West Orange-Stark Mustangs handed District 21-3A champion Bridge City their first loss in 21-3A play with a 6-3 victory at Anderson Field Tuesday night.

    April 22, 2014

  • Softball playoffs crank up Friday

    Softball playoff teams will be busy at the end of the week including the Orangefield Lady Bobcats, the Bridge City Lady Cardinals and the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Lady Bears.

    April 22, 2014

  • Ragsdale to take softball talents to LU

    Lamar University softball coach Holly Bruder announced that three student-athletes signed National Letters of Intent this week to play for Lamar starting in the 2014-15 season.

    April 22, 2014

  • Cardinals roll past Hawks for 20th victory

    The district champion Bridge City Cardinals pelted the Hardin-Jefferson Hawks 9-3 to continue their dominance of District 21-3A Friday night at Cardinal Field.

    April 18, 2014

  • Mustangs nip Cougars 2-0 to net 20th win

    West Orange-Stark’s magical 2014 campaign continues to reach nice milestones as Coach Shea Landry’s “crew” picked up win No. 20 by downing the Buna Cougars 2-0 Friday night.

    April 18, 2014

  • Lady Cards take second by downing H-J

    Getting a definite different kind of “grand slam” home run from senior Kelsey Fults, the Bridge City Lady Cardinals sealed the second-place playoff spot out of District 21-3A by toppling the Hardin-Jefferson Lady Hawks 6-1 at Lady Cardinal Field Friday evening.

    April 18, 2014

  • Bears blank Raiders to give Griff his 500th win

    A young Little CYpress-Mauriceville team gave long-time head coach Steve Griffith his 500th career coaching victory Thursday night as the Bears defeated the Lumberton Raiders 4-0 in District 20-4A action at Don Gibbens Field.

    April 18, 2014

  • Several Bear tracksters punch regional tickets

    Several Little Cypress-Mauriceville tracksters will move on to the Class 4A Region III Track & Field Championships after having success at the Area Meet featuring District 20-4A and District 19-4A Teams.

    April 17, 2014

  • Cox golfer LC-M golfer Cox heading to state

    Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s Lauren Cox will take her golf talents to the Class 4A State Golf Tournament by placing fourth overall at the Class 4A Region III Golf Championships that were held at River Ridge Golf Club Wednesday.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Locals rack up at 3A Area Meet

    Orange County 3A schools shined Wednesday and punched their tickets to the Class 3A Region III Track & Field Championships by placing well at the Area Meet in Splendora.

    April 17, 2014

Leader Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide