(Orange, Texas)

Sports Headlines

May 24, 2014

2014 All-Leader Softball Team; 'Frac' MVP

ORANGE — Another banner season took place for Orange County softball teams as two squads won their respective district titles while the other two claimed second place as four teams entered the postseason in what was an excellent 2014.

The Orangefield Lady Bobcats broke through in District 21-3A, winning the district crown with an 11-1 record for coach Amy McLaughlin. The Lady Bobcats received excellent defense and stout pitching from Khandi Breaux throughout the campaign and also got some clutch hitting in tight spots to turn back 21-3A foes. The Lady Bobcats went on to a 20-4 mark, falling to Coldspring in the bidistrict round of the playoffs.

The Vidor Lady Pirates stormed to the 20-4A title with an incredible 13-1 record behind head coach Darin Fletcher. Vidor (25-6) won its first 13 20-4A games and went on to the bidistrict round of the postseason.

The Little Cypress-Mauriceville Lady Bears and Bridge City Lady Cardinals both earned second-place finishes and trips to the playoffs before both fell in the area round.

The Lady Bears (26-8) rolled to a 12-2 record in 20-4A play and handed Vidor its only loss in district play in the last game of the regular season. Led by the likes of three-year starting seniors Taylor Fraccastoro, Hope Russell and Morgan Babineaux, the Lady Bears advanced to area where they fell to Elgin.

The Lady Cardinals (23-8) were once again in the playoffs after a strong finish in 21-3A play. Bridge City also advanced to the area round where they fell to West Columbia. The Lady Cardinals can hold their heads up high as West Columbia is playing in the 3A Region III Finals this week and could punch a state ticket to Austin.

It’s always hard, this time of year, to pick superlatives but, as usual, several kids stood out for our 2014 All-Orange Leader Softball Team.

Our Most Valuable Player honor goes to LC-M catcher Fraccastoro. Fraccastoro has been part of the All-Leader Team for three years now and saved her best for last.

“Frac” played such a key role for Lady Bear coach Dena Adkins the past three seasons as LC-M advanced to the regional finals, regional quarterfinals, and area round and also included two district titles.

Fraccastoro, despite not being pitched to a whole lot as a senior after a very productive junior campaign, still had her way at the plate.

She batted .423 and led the area with 12 home runs. She also led LC-M with 39 runs batted in to go along with six triples and five doubles.

Our Pitcher of the Year goes to Orangefield’s Breaux.

Breaux had a slew of double-digit strikeout games in 21-3A play to spur the Lady Bobcats to the title.

The senior finished with a 18-4 mark on the bump with a 1.01 earned run average. She struck out 193 batters in 132 1/3 innings.

Our Offensive MVP honors go out to Lady Cardinal junior third baseman Kasey Frederick.

Frederick was superb at the plate for coach Miste Henderson. She batted .421 for the season and tore up district pitching with several important home runs, especially in the second half of 21-3A play. Frederick, who is also excellent at playing third, had eight home runs and 31 RBI.

No player in the area made the defensive gems that Lady Bear senior Haley Mills made at shortstop. She made the routine play look easy and she also made some fantastic plays that stunned crowds throughout the season. Mills, our Defensive MVP, also got it done in the leadoff spot for the Lady Bears. She led the team with a .486 average. She scored a team-high 47 runs. She also collected five home runs, 23 RBI and added 11 doubles. She also found time to hit .321 at the plate with 10 RBI and six doubles.

Coach of the Year goes to McLaughlin as she helped lead the Lady Bobcats to a great 21-3A championship run.

Text Only
Sports Headlines
Leader Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide