(Orange, Texas)

Sports Headlines

January 23, 2013

Vidor's Quirante, WO-S' Lynch among Smith Finalists



Fisk passed for 2,256 yards and 22 touchdowns and ran for 983 yards and 14 TDs in guiding the Titans’ offense.

Hopkins darted for 1,722 yards and 14 TDs for the District 20-4A champion Bulldogs while Roberts shredded opponents for 2,140 yards and 35 TDs on the ground for the Bucs.

Smith began his coaching career at Dunbar High School in Lufkin. After coaching for four years, Smith came to Orange where he led Wallace High School. Smith then had a long coaching stint at Beaumont Charlton-Pollard High School.

Joining Lynch and Quirante on defense will be Newton linebacker Corey Jenkins and Nederland linebacker Korbin Stampley.

Jenkins helped lead the Eagles to the Class 2A Division I state semifinals, posting 160 tackles, 28 of them for losses, including six sacks. Stampley, meanwhile, notched 158 tackles and six interceptions for the Bulldogs.

Smith captureda ton of victories in his career, accomplishing amazing feats with stern discipline. He took over ill-equipped programs and turned each one of them into consistent winners.

Smith’s sons, Tody and Bubba, who both starred in the National Football League, are among more than a dozen players he helped send on to pro football.



Here are the past Willie Ray Smith Award winners:

1993: Dexter Hebert, Kelly

1994: Jay McGuire, Silsbee

1995: Jeffery Spikes, Burkeville

1996: Elihah Burkins, Thomas Jefferson

1997: Bryan Bock, Bridge City

1998: Offense: Chip Ambres, West Brook; Defense: Charles Sias, WO-S

1999: Offense: Beaux Daville, Orangefield; Defense: Rod Gulley, Newton

2000: Offense: Dustin Long, PN-G; Defense: Gayron Allen, WO-S

2001: Offense: Sean Yoder, Nederland; Defense: Jermaine Hope, WO-S

2002: Offense: Tony Eckert, Lumberton; Defense: Ricky Wilson, Lincoln

2003: Offense: Matt Peebles, Bridge City; Defense: William Bryant, Jasper

2004: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: William Morrissey, Silsbee

2005: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Brian West, Ozen

2006: Offense: Kenneth Beasley, WO-S; Defense: Sean Weatherspoon, Jasper

2007: Offense: Micah Mosley, Nederland; Defense: Earl Thomas, WO-S

2008: Offense: Cody Hussey, Lumberton; Defense: Tramain Thomas, East Chambers

2009: Offense: Christian Micheal, West Brook  Defense: Kevin Robinson, WO-S

2010: Offense: Jeremy Johnson, Silsbee; Defense: Jacoby Hale, Central

2011: Offense: Fred Ford, Kirbyville; Defense: Colin Garrett, West Brook

2012: Offense: Terrence Singleton, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Corbin Carr, Nederland



Text Only
Sports Headlines
Leader Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide