(Orange, Texas)

Sports Headlines

January 22, 2014

WO-S' Teel, Thompson Smith Finalists

BEAUMONT —  West Orange-Stark has seen its share of outstanding defensive players over its storied history.

Many of them have picked up honors throughout the years, including winning the prestigious Willie Ray Smith Awards.

However, for the first time in the school’s history, two players have been named finalists for the award this year in linebacker Elijah Teel and defensive back Deionte Thompson.

Both players were at the Elegante Hotel Wednesday night to accept the honor.

The Willie Ray Smith Banquet will be held Feb. 19 at the Elegante Hotel.

Teel, a senior, and Thompson, a junior, were key cogs for head coach Cornel Thompson as they helped lead the Mustangs (11-2) to yet another District 21-3A title as the Mustangs advanced all the way to the Class 3A Region III Division I finals.

Teel, who was also the Defensive Most Valuable Player on the All-Orange Leader Team, led the Mustangs with 155 tackles and had 17 tackles for losses.

Thompson spearheaded a young Mustang secondary and finished with 66 tackles and four interceptions.

The other two defensive finalists are Port Arthur Memorial’s C.J. Levine and Nederland’s Deshawn Washington.

Levine had 104 tackles for the Titans and had four interceptions. Washington collected 74 tackles for the Bulldogs, had 10 1/2 sacks, 21 tackles for losses and knocked down 10 passes.

The offensive finalists are Deweyville quarterback Cody Dupuy, Beaumont West Brook running back Justin Hervey, Silsbee quarterback Patrick Reed and Port Neches-Groves receiver Jeremiah Rose.

Dupuy rushed for 1,548 yards on 146 carries and passed for 495 more yards to lead the Pirates to the playoffs.

Hervey rushed for 1,573 yards and 19 touchdowns on 205 carries for the Bruins.

Reed, the two-time Most Valuable Player out of District 21-3A, passed for 1,870 yards and 21 TDs and rushed for 1,285 yards and 18 TDs.

PN-G’s Rose was 20-4A’s leading receiver with 90 receptions for 1,176 yards and 11 TDs.

The guest speaker for the 22nd annual event will be Jerry LeVias, the Beaumont Hebert ex who went on to do amazing things at SMU.

Last year’s winner was Vidor quarterback Montana Quirante, who became the first player ever to win both the defensive and offensive award in the same year.

Here are the past Willie Ray Smith Award winners:

1993: Dexter Hebert, Kelly

1994: Jay McGuire, Silsbee

1995: Jeffery Spikes, Burkeville

1996: Elijah Burkins, Thomas Jefferson

1997: Bryan Bock, Bridge City

1998: Offense: Chip Ambres, West Brook; Defense: Charles Sias, WO-S

1999: Offense: Beaux Daville, Orangefield; Defense: Rod Gulley, Newton

2000: Offense: Dustin Long, PN-G; Defense: Gayron Allen, WO-S

2001: Offense: Sean Yoder, Nederland; Defense: Jermaine Hope, WO-S

2002: Offense: Tony Eckert, Lumberton; Defense: Ricky Wilson, Lincoln

2003: Offense: Matt Peebles, Bridge City; Defense: William Bryant, Jasper

2004: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: William Morrissey, Silsbee

2005: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Brian West, Ozen

2006: Offense: Kenneth Beasley, WO-S; Defense: Sean Weatherspoon, Jasper

2007: Offense: Micah Mosley, Nederland; Defense: Earl Thomas, WO-S

2008: Offense: Cody Hussey, Lumberton; Defense: Tramain Thomas, East Chambers

2009: Offense: Christian Micheal, West Brook  Defense: Kevin Robinson, WO-S

2010: Offense: Jeremy Johnson, Silsbee; Defense: Jacoby Hale, Central

2011: Offense: Fred Ford, Kirbyville; Defense: Colin Garrett, West Brook

2012: Offense: Terrence Singleton, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Corbin Carr, Nederland

2013: Offense: Montana Quirante, Vidor; Defense: Montana Quirante, Vidor

Text Only
Sports Headlines
  • Ragsdale, Cole racking up at collegiate level

    West Orange-Stark product Rebekah Ragsdale, a senior at Mary Hardin-Baylor and Little Cypress-Mauriceville product Raven Cole, a freshman at Louisiana State University Eunice are both racking up big numbers on the collegiate circuit.

    April 24, 2014

  • Lemoine Team Lemoine Named to USA Baseball Collegiate National Team

    Houston Baseball sophomore Jake Lemoine has been selected and accepted his invitation to compete for the 2014 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team this summer, announced by USA Baseball.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Big 1st frame propels Mustangs past Cardinals

    Using a monstrous six-run first inning, the West Orange-Stark Mustangs handed District 21-3A champion Bridge City their first loss in 21-3A play with a 6-3 victory at Anderson Field Tuesday night.

    April 22, 2014

  • Softball playoffs crank up Friday

    Softball playoff teams will be busy at the end of the week including the Orangefield Lady Bobcats, the Bridge City Lady Cardinals and the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Lady Bears.

    April 22, 2014

  • Ragsdale to take softball talents to LU

    Lamar University softball coach Holly Bruder announced that three student-athletes signed National Letters of Intent this week to play for Lamar starting in the 2014-15 season.

    April 22, 2014

  • Cardinals roll past Hawks for 20th victory

    The district champion Bridge City Cardinals pelted the Hardin-Jefferson Hawks 9-3 to continue their dominance of District 21-3A Friday night at Cardinal Field.

    April 18, 2014

  • Mustangs nip Cougars 2-0 to net 20th win

    West Orange-Stark’s magical 2014 campaign continues to reach nice milestones as Coach Shea Landry’s “crew” picked up win No. 20 by downing the Buna Cougars 2-0 Friday night.

    April 18, 2014

  • Lady Cards take second by downing H-J

    Getting a definite different kind of “grand slam” home run from senior Kelsey Fults, the Bridge City Lady Cardinals sealed the second-place playoff spot out of District 21-3A by toppling the Hardin-Jefferson Lady Hawks 6-1 at Lady Cardinal Field Friday evening.

    April 18, 2014

  • Bears blank Raiders to give Griff his 500th win

    A young Little CYpress-Mauriceville team gave long-time head coach Steve Griffith his 500th career coaching victory Thursday night as the Bears defeated the Lumberton Raiders 4-0 in District 20-4A action at Don Gibbens Field.

    April 18, 2014

  • Several Bear tracksters punch regional tickets

    Several Little Cypress-Mauriceville tracksters will move on to the Class 4A Region III Track & Field Championships after having success at the Area Meet featuring District 20-4A and District 19-4A Teams.

    April 17, 2014

Leader Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide