(Orange, Texas)

September 3, 2013

Potter, Lady Cards dominate Cardinal CC Meet

Van Wade
The Orange Leader

VIDOR — Several Orange County cross country athletes shined at the 2013 Cardinal Cross Country Classic held at Claiborne Park last Saturday, especially the Bridge City Lady Cardinals.

The Lady Cardinals dominated the competition, winning the 3A-and-Under title with 17 points and sparked by Katelyn Potter’s first-place time of 13:55.53 over the two-mile course.

Hamshire-Fannett was a distant second with 59 points followed by Orangefield (75) and Liberty (78).

BC’s Kaitlin Thierheimer was second with a 14:23.95 followed by teammates Nikkiah Pulliam (4th, 15:02.93), Jessica Koopman (7th, 15:39.83), Jenny Nguyen (9th, 15:49.85), and Tori Richard (14th, 16:13.32)

Orangefield was led by Emily Adrio (12th, 16:08.95) followed by Nikki Smith (21st, 17:28.48), Heather Stout (23rd, 18:20.35), Jesica Casewell (24th, 18:20.77), and Brook Bransom (40th, 21:26.87).

In the Class 5A-4A Boys Division, Nederland walked away with the team title with 57 points, led by the first-place finish of Bulldog Ryan Roebuck, who covered the 5000-meter terrain in 16 minutes, 48.66 seconds.

Dayton placed second with 65 points. Bridge City, which once again ran up in division, placed third with 66 points followed by Beaumont West Brook (69), Port Neches-Groves (106) and Little Cypress-Mauriceville (127).

Conner Wilbur led the Cardinals, finishing ninth with a time of 18:59.55. He was followed by teammates Seth Hartman (12th, 19:04.50), Graydon Glover (13th, 19:10.20), Brent LeBleu (14th, 19:18.81), Russell Bozman (18th, 19:41.44) and Jordan Martin (31st, 20:58.22).

James Armstrong had a strong outing for LC-M, placing fourth with a clocking of 18:24.60. He was followed by teammates Jace Bagwell (15th, 19:22.48), Shri Murthy (35th, 21:39.23), Jacob Richard (39th, 22:17.00), Vinny Hale (42nd, 23:35.31).

Nederland won the Girls 5A-4A Division with 33 points followed by Dayton (37), Lumberton (67) and PN-G (88).

Lumberton’s Jordan Welborn cruised to the title, winning in 20:17.72. She won by nearly three minutes over the second-place finish by Nederland’s Madison Ledet (23:09.41). LC-M’s Ashton Wilson placed 12th with a 24:58.94.

The Bridge City boys won the 3A-and-Under division with 31 points followed by Liberty Christian Academy (68), Silsbee (84), Liberty (88), Hamshire-Fannett (93) and Community Christian (123).

Jasper’s Simon Mijares dominated the race, winning in 19:13.14.

Bridge City was paced by the second-place finish of Nick Marcotte (19:52.05). He was followed by teammates Jordan Fontenot (8th, 20:45.28), Daniel Oliphint (9th, 20:50.04), Edward Doan (10th, 20:52.22), Daniel Chesson (11th, 20:58.50), and Emal Rakhat (16th, 21:45.86).

Orangefield’s Jermie Breaux was 25th with a 24:35.81 and teammate Logan Dubose was 31st with a 26:24.01.