(Orange, Texas)

February 16, 2013

Filing period reaches mid-point to deadline

Tommy Mann Jr.
The Orange Leader

ORANGE — The filing period has hit the halfway point and only two weeks remain before the deadline.

The filing period for city council seats and school board positions continues through Friday, March 1. Election day is Saturday, May 11, 2013. People wishing to vote in the May 11 election, but who are not yet registered, may register until Thursday, April 11, 2013.


There are no changes in filings for the City of Orange from the previous week as only two races look to be on the ballot at this time.

District 2 incumbent Cullen Smith will be opposed by challenger Tommy Ferguson, and Annette Pernell, incumbent for District 4, will be opposed by Mary McKenna.

Bill Mello, the incumbent for at-large Position 5, is currently unopposed after Nancy Gilliam Byers withdrew last week for personal reasons.


Mayor Roy McDonald and councilman Mike Trahan, both incumbents, have filed their applications to seek re-election this May and both are unopposed. Current councilman Charles Winter has yet to file for another term.


The City of Pinehurst has three at-large council seats open for filing this election.

The incumbents, Dan Barclay, Dan Mohon and Matt Chandler, have all filed for re-election. No challengers have filed as of Friday.

Bridge City

The City of Bridge City will apparently have an election this May as two of the three council seats have challengers for the incumbents.

Incumbent Kevin Mott, Place 1, will seek re-election but he will be opposed by former Bridge City councilperson Lucy Fields, who has also tossed her name into race.

Place 3 councilman Robert Simonton Jr. has also filed for re-election for another term, but he will face off against new candidate Steve Quibodeaux.

Place 5 incumbent Richard Savoy has yet to file for re-election.


Changes are brewing in Vidor once again.

Trey Haney, Incumbent councilman for Ward 6, has opted to run for Mayor of Vidor and has submitted his application for a place on the ballot, thereby foregoing his council seat. Incumbent Mayor Ken Crawford has yet to file.

Robert Viator Jr., has filed for a place on the ballot as a candidate for Ward 6. No other candidates have filed, nor have incumbents Lynda Courtney, Ward 1, and Mallie Bickham, Ward 4.

Rose City

No candidates or incumbents have filed an application for a place on the ballot in Rose City as of Friday. This includes incumbent officials such as Mayor David Bush and councilmen Hernando Ramos and Chad Landry.

Pine Forest

Incumbents Joey Peno and Jason Dunwoody, the Mayor and Place 5 councilman, respectively, have filed applications for re-election this May. Both men remain unopposed at this time.

Resident Darrell E. Talcott has submitted his name for the May election for the Place 1 seat, which is currently held by John Davis. Davis has yet to file.


The Little Cypress-Mauriceville Consolidated Independent School District will have a race between two new candidates seeking the seat in Position 7, which is currently held by Jason Woods. Candidates Ron Borel and Blake Istre have filed for a place on the ballot. Woods has not yet filed.

Incumbent Rex Peveto, Position 6, has filed for re-election but is currently unopposed.


All three incumbents - Rebbeca Rutledge, Place 3; Thad Hill, Place 4; and Jerry McInnis, Place 5 - have filed applications and will seek re-election to the BCISD Board of Trustees. They are currently unopposed.


Incumbent Ricky Jacobs has filed for re-election as a member of the West Orange-Cove Consolidated Independent School District’s Board of Trustees. The other incumbents, Hardy O’Neal and Harry Barclay, have not filed, nor have any new candidates.

Vidor ISD

The Vidor Independent School District has three positions open for the May election this year, but so far only one incumbent and one new candidate have come forth.

Incumbent Mike Kilmer, Position 4, has filed for another term on the school board, but incumbents Sheila Sarver, Position 3, and Michael Quinn, Position 5, have yet to do so.

New candidate Dennis Hill has submitted his name for a place on the May ballot under Position 3.