(Orange, Texas)


May 30, 2014

LSC-PA Theater Department honors top performers

PORT ARTHUR — “A Class Act,” the student organization of Lamar State College-Port Arthur’s Theater Department, named Port Arthur’s Neicy Gordon two times a winner and Crystal McDowell of Groves took home “The Tommy” Award from the group’s Spring 2014 Banquet held Friday, May 9.

The presentation of the Tommy Award, named after LSC-PA Vice President of Student Services Tom Neal for his strong support of the school’s theater department, topped a two-hour event held at the on-campus Black Box Theater that featured plenty of trips down memory lane for the student actors.

Damon Gengo, Theater Instructor, and Clark Reed, Theater Production Assistant, said The Tommy Award will be given annually to the department’s unsung hero. McDowell won in a vote that included other nominees Dylan Kilday, Stephanie Molina, Brandon Thomas and Tiffany Thomas.

Gordon was named both Best Technician and Best Supporting Actress for her work in costumes and in various roles for the production “Bat Boy.”

Nick Bishop of Groves won the Best Supporting Actor Award while Ciera Jackson of Bridge City took home the Best Actress Award and Silsbee’s Kilday won Best Actor.

Kilday won for his role as Dr. Parker in “Bat Boy,” with other nominees Carlton James and Hunter Hodges. Jackson won for the role of Shelly in “Bat Boy,” with Hilary Hayes and Alexa Guilbeau also nominated.

Bishop played the roles of Glenn in “Rumors” and Sheriff in “Bat Boy.” Other nominees for Best Supporting Actor were Kilday, Reed, Richard Lopez and Carlton James. Other Best Supporting Actress nominees were Breanna Landry, Christina Gengo, Hannah Hollier, Kelsey Strother and Guilbeau.

Other nominees for Best Technician were Jose Salgado, Tiffany Thomas, Bishop and McDowell.

Text Only
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide